Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Donetsk People's Republic

From March 16 the Ukrainian side introduces a restriction on the checkpoints intercrossing

16 March 2020
article image

According to the order of the so-called “Operation of Joint Forces” dated March 15, No. 207, from March 16 to April 3, 2020, the transport blockade of Donbass territory is intensified “to prevent the spread of acute respiratory infection COVID-19 caused by the SARS-CoV-2 coronovirus."

This order limits the movement of citizens through the territory of the contact line. Only citizens with permanent registration in the territory controlled by Ukraine will be able to enter Ukraine. Only Ukrainian citizens with permanent registration on the territory of the Republic will be allowed to leave Ukrainian and enter the Republic’s territory.

Since the majority of people crossing the contact line are pensioners, who are forced to pass identification every two months to receive legal payments, the Ukrainian side promises to suspend the identification process for the period of quarantine. We hope that such measures will indeed be taken and will be carried out more responsibly than ceasefire obligations that are regularly violated by the AFU.