article image

The results of the sitting of Contact group (September 18)

As a result of today's meeting of the Contact group, we can safely say that the Ukrainian side deliberately sabotaged all the efforts made by the mediators of the negotiation process and representatives of the guarantor countries of the Minsk agreements to achieve progress on the political track.

Kiev flatly refused to agree Steinmeier's formula with the representatives of the Republics, jeopardizing the imminent holding of the summit in the "Normandy format" and, in fact, sabotaging the clear instructions of the advisers of the heads of the"Normandy four" countries.

"Ukrainian representatives continue to distort the meaning of the compromise formula, mistakenly giving priority to the solution of security issues. It is high time for official Kiev to stop inventing alternative versions of reality and start implementing what is clearly spelled out in the Package of measures – steps to implement political and security points should be carried out in parallel, interconnected and exclusively in coordination with the representatives of the Republics.

At the moment some concrete steps was agreed in the sphere of security - the indefinite truce and additional measures for its control were agreed, resulting in reduction of escalation, a long awaited disengagement of forces and means in the first pilot area Stanitsa Luganskaya finally happened, some important documents within the framework of disengagement were worked out. 

In this context, for many years there has been absolutely no concrete progress in the work on the implementation of political clauses. Today's meeting, unfortunately, was no exception, despite the clear and unambiguous instructions at the level of advisers of the "Normandy format", – DPR Plenipotentiary Natalia Nikonorova stated.

In addition, the Ukrainian authorities should also remember the need for constitutional reform, namely the consolidation of the special status of Donbass in the basic law of the country. Only in this case it will be possible to talk about an effective and long-term settlement of the conflict, because without fixing the special status of Donbass in the Constitution, the Ukrainian Parliament will be able to cancel or rewrite this normative legal act relatively easily. 

"It is obvious that the leadership of Ukraine will not be able to sabotage the work on the political track indefinitely. We are sure that Kiev will have to bear responsibility for the unfair attitude to the peaceful settlement both to the people of Donbass and to the Ukrainian citizens. 

The existence of obligations to the world community in the face of the guarantor countries of the Minsk agreements and the UN Security Council should also not be forgotted. In our opinion, at this level, it is time to apply certain measures of responsibility to the Ukrainian authorities for systematic failure to fulfill their obligations," – Natalia Nikonorova outlined the principled position of the Republics.

article image

Итоги заседания Контактной группы (18 сентября)

По итогам сегодняшнего заседания Контактной группы смело можно говорить о намеренном срыве украинской стороной всех усилий, приложенных посредниками переговорного процесса и представителями стран-гарантов Минских соглашений для достижения подвижек на политическом треке. 

Киев категорически отказался согласовывать с представителями Республик формулу Штайнмайера, поставив под угрозу скорое проведение саммита в «Нормандском формате» и, по сути, саботировав четкие поручения советников глав государств «Нормандской четверки».

«Украинские представители продолжают искажать смысл компромиссной формулы, ошибочно наделяя приоритетом решение вопросов безопасности. Официальному Киеву уже давно пора прекратить придумывать альтернативные версии реальности и приступить к выполнению того, что четко прописано в Комплексе мер – шаги по реализации политических пунктов и пунктов по безопасности должны осуществляться параллельно, взаимосвязано и исключительно в согласовании с представителями Республик

На данный момент в сфере безопасности сделаны конкретные шаги – было согласовано и бессрочное перемирие, и дополнительные меры по его контролю, в результате чего в целом удалось достичь снижения эскалации, произошло долгожданное разведение сил и средств на первом пилотном участке «Станица Луганская», прорабатываются важные документы в рамках вопросов разведения. 

На этом фоне уже который год нет абсолютно никаких конкретных подвижек в работе над реализацией политических пунтков. Сегодняшнее заседание, к сожалению, не стало исключением, несмотря на четкие и однозначные поручения на уровне советников «Нормандского формата», – пояснила Полпред ДНР Наталья Никонорова

Кроме того, украинским властям необходимо также помнить о необходимости осуществления конституционной реформы, а именно о закреплении особого статуса Донбасса в основном законе страны. Только в таком случае можно будет говорить об эффективном и долгосрочном урегулировании конфликта, поскольку без фиксации в конституции особого статуса Донбасса украинский парламент сможет относительно легко отменить или переписать данный нормативно-правовой акт. 

«Совершенно очевидно, что бесконечно саботировать работу на политическом треке у руководства Украины не получится. Мы уверены, что Киеву придется нести ответственность за недобросовестное отношение к мирному урегулированию и перед народом Донбасса, и перед украинскими гражданами. 

Не стоит забывать и о существовании обязательств перед мировым сообществом в лице стран-гарантов Минских соглашений и Совета Безопасности ООН. По нашему мнению, на этом уровне пришло время применить определенные меры ответственности к украинским властям за систематическое невыполнение своих обязательств», – обозначила принципиальную позицию Республик Наталья Никонорова.