article image

Results of the sitting of the Contact group (December 19)

During the sitting of the Minsk Contact Group, Republican representatives agreed with the proposal to introduce the Christmas truce on the eve of the New Year and Christmas holidays and proposed a date of December 22.

“Unfortunately, representatives of official Kiev took an extremely destructive position in coordinating the pre-holiday truce. There were no apparent reason, they ruined today's meeting” - Natalia Nikonorova said.

This circumstance directly indicates the unwillingness of Ukrainian party to peacefully resolve the situation in Donbass and indicates the official Kiev’s intention to unleash active hostilities in the nearest future, thereby extending the martial law. It is evidenced by the data we have.

“We are extremely concerned about current critical situation and urge he OSCE leadership, international guarantors and the community to influence the Ukrainian authorities in order to conclude a“ Christmas truce ”as soon as possible” - DPR Plenipotentiary stated.

As a compromise, the OSCE SMM coordinator Mr. Saydik invited the parties to hold a videoconference of the working group on security issues on December 27 to nevertheless agree on a long-awaited truce.

“We hope that this initiative of the Mission will lead to a positive result and the people of Donbass will be able to quietly spend Christmas and winter holidays, and will also become a guarantee deterring Ukrainian aggression” - Nikonorova stressed.

article image

Итоги заседания контактной группы (19 декабря)

Сегодня в ходе заседания Минской Контактной группы представители Республик высказали согласие с предложением о введении Рождественского перемирия в канун Новогодних и Рождественских праздников и предложили дату 22 декабря. 

«К сожалению, представители официального Киева заняли крайне деструктивную позицию в согласовании предпраздничного перемирия: по сути, без внятных причин, сорвали главнейший вопрос сегодняшней встречи», – уточнила Наталья Никонорова

Данное обстоятельство прямо указывает на нежелание украинской стороны мирно урегулировать ситуацию в Донбассе и свидетельствует о намерении официального Киева развязать в ближайшее время активные боевые действия, тем самым возможно продлить сроки военного положения. Об этом же свидетельствуют имеющиеся у нас данные.

«Мы крайне обеспокоены сложившейся критической ситуацией и призываем руководство ОБСЕ, страны гаранты и мировое сообщество оказать воздействие на украинские власти, чтобы как можно скорее заключить «рождественское перемирие», – заявила полпред ДНР.

В качестве компромиссного варианта координатор от СММ ОБСЕ господин Сайдик предложил сторонам провести видеоконференцию рабочей группы по безопасности 27 декабря, в рамках которой все же согласовать долгожданное перемирие.

«Надеемся, что эта инициатива Миссии приведет к положительному результату и люди Донбасса смогут спокойно провести Рождественские и зимние праздничные дни, а также станет сдерживающей украинскую агрессию гарантией», – подчеркнула Никонорова.