Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Donetsk People's Republic

American diplomat Michael Springmann noted the importance of Donbass participation in events at the UN Security Council level

03 December 2020
article image

Career diplomat Michael Springmann, who served in the US State Department, gave an interview to Free West Media, in which he spoke about the importance of the meeting held yesterday at the UN Security Council with the participation of Donbass representatives.

Interview text:

Former US diplomat Michael Springmann addressed the situation in Ukraine and Wednesday's online session of the UN Security Council where the foreign ministers of the two unrecognized republics of Donetsk and Lugansk got the opportunity to speak.

Mr. Springmann, how do you see the Ukrainian war 2014/15 and its results today? Washington is considered a close ally of Kiev and encouraged Ukraine in its military campaign against the east of the country.

Springmann: Ukraine was and is making a big mistake – and this mistake has made the eastern parts and Crimea leave the state. The Obama administration was very supportive towards Kiev during the Maidan protests, fueled by the US and the EU. The result: There is still corruption, still a social crisis and the country has been disintegrating.

Do you understand the steps taken by Donetsk and Lugansk to declare independence from Ukraine?

Springmann: I certainly do. The new government in Kiev took away some fundamental basic and civil rights from the Russian speaking part of the Ukrainian people – and even went on war against them. Of course they have the right to self determination. Self-determination of nations is the cornerstone on which the UN is built. Even our country, the US, exists solely thanks to this crucial right. Therefore, the existence of the Donbass Republics is a political reality which we have to face. People of Donbass, who have voted for secession from Ukraine, willed the Republics into existence. They have a right to be heard.

How would you interpret this online session on the platform of the UN Security Council, where the two foreign ministers of the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republic for the first time had the opportunity to speak directly to an audience of United Nations members?

Springmann: For a long time, Ukraine had a monopoly on information coverage of the conflict in presenting its vision of what is happening in the east of the country. This is an unacceptable situation – the world needs to hear the views from all sides.

The representatives of the two unrecognized republics especially accused Kiev of not respecting and implementing the Minsk agreements…

Springmann: For five years now, Kiev has been assuring the international community of its commitment to the Minsk agreements. But representatives of Donbass brought us some horrifying figures – about the numbers of dead, wounded, people who lost their homes and earnings, people whose rights and freedoms have been oppressed. More importantly, these statements are supported by facts. Obviously, Kiev is simply misinforming us, while steadily sabotaging the peacemaking process.

And as a last question: How do you consider the first international performance of the two foreign ministers of the unrecognized republics?

Springmann: I want to say firstly that it is absolutely phenomenal to have created independent and functioning state structures in such a short time. And to witness for example in the Foreign Ministry of the DPR, there are so many young people employed! Most of them started with no diplomatic education and no experience and thus performing on such a high professional level, has simply been fascinating to watch. Diplomacy is a complex topic, even for long established countries and governments. But the young diplomatic workers in Donbass learned very quickly and delivered solid and exceptionally professional work. Especially the performance of the foreign minister of DPR, Natalia Nikonorova, a young woman in her 30s, was impressive to witness. The fact that this young team managed to present their cause on the level of the UN security council, is a mayor achievement. It speaks for their abilities.

Mr. Springmann, thanks a lot for the interview


Michael Springmann served in the United States government as a diplomat with the State Department’s Foreign Service, with postings in Germany, India, and Saudi Arabia. He left federal service and currently practices law in the Washington, DC, area.

https://freewestmedia.com/2020/12/03/donbass-the-world-needs-to-hear-all-sides/

Министерство Иностранных Дел
Донецкой Народной Республики

Американский дипломат Майкл Спрингманн отметил важность участия Донбасса в мероприятиях на уровне СБ ООН

03 декабря 2020
article image

Кадровый дипломат Майкл Спрингманн, служивший в Государственном департаменте США, дал интервью агентству Free West Media, в котором рассказал о важности проведенного вчера заседания на площадке СБ ООН с участием представителей Донбасса. 

Текст интервью (перевод на русский язык):

Господин Спрингманн, как вы оцениваете украинскую войну 2014/15 и ее результаты сегодня? Вашингтон считается близким союзником Киева и поощряет Украину в ее военной кампании против востока страны.

Спрингманн: Украина сделала и продолжает делать большую ошибку – и эта ошибка заставила восток Украины и Крым отделиться. Результат таков: по-прежнему коррупция, по-прежнему социальный кризис, страна распадается.

Вы можете понять действия Донецка и Луганска по провозглашению независимости от Украины?

Спрингманн: Конечно, могу. Новое правительство в Киеве отняло у русскоязычной части народа Украины некоторые фундаментальные и гражданские права – и даже начало войну против них. Конечно, они имеют право на самоопределение. Самоопределение наций – это краеугольный камень, на котором базируется ООН. Даже наша страна – США – существует исключительно благодаря этому важнейшему праву. Следовательно, существование республик Донбасса – это политическая реальность, с которой нам приходится сталкиваться. Народ Донбасса, проголосовавший за отделение от Украины, добился существования республик. У них есть право быть услышанными.

Как бы Вы истолковали данное онлайн-заседание на платформе Совета Безопасности ООН, где два министра иностранных дел Донецкой и Луганской Народных Республик впервые были наделены возможностью напрямую выступить перед членами ООН?

Спрингманн: Долгое время Украина имела монополию на информационное освещение конфликта, представляя свое видение того, что происходит на востоке страны. Это недопустимая ситуациямир должен слышать мнения всех сторон.

Представители двух непризнанных республик обвинили Киев в несоблюдении и невыполнении Минских договоренностей ...

Спрингманн: Вот уже пять лет Киев заверяет международное сообщество в своей приверженности Минским договоренностям. Но представители Донбасса привели ужасающие цифры о количестве людей, погибших, раненых, потерявших кров и средства к выживанию в этом конфликте, а также людей, права и свободы которых ущемлены. Что более важно, эти утверждения подтверждаются фактами. Очевидно, Киев просто дезинформирует нас, неуклонно саботируя мирный процесс.

И последний вопрос: как вы оцениваете первое международное выступление двух министров иностранных дел непризнанных республик?

Спрингманн: Прежде всего хочу сказать, что создание независимых и функционирующих государственных структур за столь короткое время – это абсолютно феноменально. А если взять в пример Министерство иностранных дел ДНР, там же столько молодежи работает! Большинство из них начинали, не имея дипломатического образования и опыта, поэтому их выступления на таком высоком профессиональном уровне просто удивительны. Дипломатия – сложная тема даже для давно существующих стран и правительств. Но молодые дипломаты Донбасса очень быстро обучились и выполняют свою работу исключительно надежно и профессионально. Особенно впечатляюще было выступление министра иностранных дел ДНР Натальи Никоноровой, молодой женщины лет 30-ти. То, что её молодая команда сумела представить свое дело на уровне Совета безопасности ООН – чрезвычайное достижение. Это многое говорит об их способностях. 

Господин Спрингманн, большое спасибо за интервью

Справка: Майкл Спрингманн служил в правительстве Соединенных Штатов Америки в качестве дипломата на службе у Госдепартамента, занимая должности в Германии, Индии и Саудовской Аравии. Он оставил федеральную службу и в настоящее время занимается юридической практикой в Вашингтоне, округ Колумбия.

Источник: https://freewestmedia.com/2020/12/03/donbass-the-world-needs-to-hear-all-sides/